QEB beat KMS 4-2 in CFL

QEB beat KMS 4-2 in CFL

East Bengal defeated Kalighat MS by 4-2 in their Calcutta Football League Premier Divison ‘A’ match played today at East Bengal ground.

Santos scored a brace for East Bengal while Bidyashagar Singh scored the other. Another goal is a self goal of a defender from Kalighat MS. Tuhin Sikdar and Rahul Kumar Paswan scored for Kalighat MS. Alexander, the foreign footballer of the Kalighat Milan Sangha was sent off after he kicked Tondomba Singh twenty minutes before the final whistle.

Custodian Somnath Dutt of Kalighat MS, despite letting four goals, made several saves. Otherwise, the red-gold brigade could have won by a bigger margin.

East Bengal’s new recruit Juan Mera Gonzalez dazzled in the slushy ground conditions with his speed and deceptive runs and through passes.

Kalighat MS got the lead in the 38th minute when Tuhin Sikdar scored but Bidyashagar restored parity four minutes later. Juan Mera’s swerving corner was fisted away by the Kalghat MS goalkeeper but the ball deflecting off a defender came to Bidyashagar and he made no mistake slotting it home.

In the 60th minute Juan Mera took a short corner and passed to Pintu Mahata who ran down the right and his cross entered the net touching the feet of a Kalighat defender resulting in a self goal. Santos scored in the 65th minute with a low grounder to make it 3-1 for the red & golds.

Kalighat were then reduced to 10 men as Alexander was sent off by the referee. But soon after Rahul Paswan reduced the margin for Kalighat MS. Jaime Santos scored again in the 83rd minute to give red & golds a 4-2 lead.

Though QEB attacked more in the last few minutes but they could not increase their margin as the Kalighat custodian made some brilliant saves.

QEB : Lalthuanmawia Ralte, Samad Ali Mallick, Asheer Akhtar, Marti Crespi Pascual, Manoj Mohammed (Abhishek Ambekar), Pintu Mahata, Naorem Tondomba Singh, PC Rohlupuia (Borja Gomez Perez), Juan Mera Gonzalez (Brandon Vanlalremdika), Jaime Santos, Bidyashagar Singh

Related News

view all
Kolkata Football League, Premier Division, Group 'B'

কলকাতা ফুটবল লীগ, প্রিমিয়ার ডিভিশন, গ্রুপ 'বি' ইমামি ই more

Homage to Lata Mangeshkar, a lifelong member of the East Bengal Club.

The day after Goddess Saraswati Pujo, Saraswati, the mother of music, left us all. We mourn the passing of legendary musician Lata Mangeshkar. He came more

Mandar Rao Desai

Emami East Bengal FC have acquired the services of the experienced Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Edwin Sydney Vanspaul and Mandar Rao Desai on free transfers, who more

JC Mukherjee T20 Trophy Quarter Final Match

18.05.2022: East Bengal Club vs Kolkata Police The game is played at the Jadavpur University ground in Salt Lake more